Columns

A Tribute to Actor Alan ‘Snape’ Rickman

During lunchtime I was reading my Twitter timeline – like everyday – and read something I thought was just rubbish. Untill I scrolled down and read the same news by more reliable sources. Alan Rickman passed away at the age of 69. I was so in shock since it totally came as a surprise. The actor battled cancer and unfortunately lost his fight. Because I loved him so much as Severus Snape in the Harry Potter franchise, which was – in my opinion – his most iconic role, I decided to write a tribute by writing about three of his films I love.  

Alan Rickman played 68 roles, whereof my favourite is his role in the Harry Potter films. His amazing, remarkable voice is easy to recognize. In addition to his acting he also produced a film and directed two films. It was only last year, 2014, he promoted the romantic costume drama A Little Chaos. Besides writing and directing this film, Rickman also played a part in his film along Kate Winslet. However, Alan Rickman first came to the attention of American audiences as Vicomte de Valmont in Les Liaisons Dangereuses on Broadway in 1987. For this part he was also nominated for a Tony Award. His first film appearance was in the action film Die Hard in 1988, opposite Bruce Willis. Before he appeared in a few tv-series and tv-movies. Alan won a Golden Globe for his performance in the mini-series Rasputin and a BAFTA for his performance as the Sheriff of Nottingham in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, which produced the most quoted line of Rickman’s career:

”Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings – and call off Christmas!”Alan Rickman sense and sensibility

The first time I saw Alan Rickman was in Sense & Sensibility from 1995, the romantic drama film based on the novel written by Jane Austen. Along with the actresses Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet and actor Hugh Grant. This film is still one of my favourite stories. In fact I should watch it this weekend! Rickman plays the role of Colonel Brandon, a middle-aged man who meets the sisters Dashwood (Winslet and Thompson) after they settled in a cute cottage nearby some relatives, who are friends of Brandon. Brandon is mysterious and silent man with a past, but who falls for the young miss Marianne (Kate Winslet). However, she has only eyes for the young, rich John Willoughby. Fortunately, everything ends well and Brandon and Marianne marry.

Since I’m a fan of romantic drama, it doesn’t come as surprise I also loved Rickman in the romantic film Love Actually from 2003. I recently saw it  and wrote a review on the Christmas film, which is my favourite romantic drama/comedy film. It’s a film I seriously must see during that period, with a good end as well. In Love Actually Rickman plays Harry, who’s married with Emma Thompson’s character Karen. It is really funny when you realize that in Sense & Sensibility Rickman plays Thompson’s brother-in-law. Unfortunately there’s trouble in Harry and Karen’s marriage. In his most funny scene, Harry buys jewelry for an other woman, his colleague to be in fact. In this scene Rowan ‘Mr. Bean’ Atkinson is the main reason why it’s funny. But in the end the couple Harry and Karen seems to be just fine!

Alan Rickman 'Always'

But Alan Rickman’s probably most iconic role is the one of Severus Snape from the Harry Potter films. His compelling voice, his lines – “You just know?”– his total appearance, the plot twist and the mystery around the character, and the way he portrayed this character makes Snape a beloved character. To think that he only got the part after Tim Roth dropped out.. Severus Snape is one of the professors at Hogwarts, school of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Snape is the mysterious figure whereof everyone must think he’s in fact evil and best buddies with the Dark Lord, Lord Voldemort. From the beginning Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) has the feeling something’s odd with Snape, how wrong could he be. Nevertheless, it’s only in The Deathly Hollows part 2 when Harry and the rest of the world learns about Snape’s actual motives. I hate it that I don’t remember my exact reaction when I read the final book. I do know I was completely surprised and that particular scène from the film – Snape’s memories – is one of my favourites of the entire franchise! Always.

“When I’m 80 years old, I’ll be reading Harry Potter. And my family will say to me, “After all this time?” And I will say, “Always”.  (IMDB)

 

Leave a Reply

