film review

Review | Scream 4 – 2011

After the disappointing sequels, Scream 2 and Scream 3, I thought maybe Scream 4 will be much better. I was really looking forward to see this one because I really thought I’ve read and heard positive things about this one. unfortunately the fourth film in this horror franchise was really a waste of my time. Better maybe than the previous ones, but still disappointing. 

The original cast, Neve Campbell, David Arquette and Courtney Cox made their appearance once again. 10 years after Sidney (Campbell) got attacked she returns to the place where it all happened, for her book signing. Not knowing that the same day she arrived two teenagers got slaughtered. Dewey Riley (Arquette) is there again to save the day but this tiime he is the head of police department. His wife Gale (Cox) wants to gain as much information as she can but to do so she needs the help of two teenagers. In the mean time a group of friends got attacked in their house but nothing scary or new here.

scream4 friends scream4_03

The first few minutes I thought I was watching at a bad Scary movie film. In these films their making fun of other films but these in Scream 4 it was like the directors were making fun of the people who had some prejudices regarding this sequel. “No, it’s not something you’ve seen before. This time it will be different.” Yeah right. However, I must say I didn’t expect the killer was….. I didn’t really see that one coming. But most of the time it was predictable and sometimes even hilarious. Nothing horrorish about this film!

The acting might be Ok, but the story is weak. It really is just a rehash of the original Scream film but it never gets to that level in my opinion. They used some details from the first film, but in this one it looked like they were making fun of it like Scary Movie does. When I learned who the killers were, I was like: “Ok, didn’t see that coming.” But that’s probably because I couldn’t take both persons seriously as killers. One was too weak to be a psycho killer and the other, well that just didn’t feel real. However the second one had a good motive to be a sick killer. I also missed the “Cat & Mouse” game between the killer(s) and their victims. Please don’t make a fifth film!

Also starring: Lucy Hale, Anna Paquin, Kristen Bell, Emma Roberts, Rory Culkin and Hayden Panettiere.

Leave a Reply

