Series Review

Review | Hannibal – Season 1

Ever since I heard about this (upcoming) new series Hannibal, I really wanted to see it. I’ve seen the films with Anthony Hopkins years ago, but the only thing I actually remember is that doctor Hannibal Lector actually was a serial killer who eats his victims. A few months ago the tv-series about the man-eating doctor Hannibal Lector, started on the Dutch television. Every week I really enjoyed watching it. At first I had some doubts about the progress. I hoped it wouldn’t be sort of the same story every episode: A vicious murder case being solved by FBI agent Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) and his ‘assistant’ Will Graham (Hugh Dancy), where Will gets help from his psychiatrist Doctor Hannibal Lector (Mads Mikkelsen).

The first season shows how FBI criminal profiler Will Graham drifts farther away from reality every time he solves a crime. His ability to empathize with serial killers actually makes him insane in a way he doesn’t know what’s real and what’s not. He loses track of time and has some black-outs. In the first episode Jack introduces doctor Hannibal Lector to Will. He thinks he might help Will with his problems, but he actually does the opposite what becomes very clear in the final episode. Hugh Dancy does a great job as playing the labile FBI criminal profiler. Mads Mikkelsen is amazing as the horror doctor. I really think he is a genius. Everybody thinks he’s an amazing doctor and a good help for Will, but without knowing Lector is in fact the one they are looking for. Sometimes I thought to myself Lector might actually help Will and only kills the one who sort of deserves it. But in the end I think he only helped himself and loves his way of living.

What I really liked, is that the main thing of the show is the development of Will’s and Hannibal’s relationship. And not solving the murders like it is in “CSI”. Some murders are really shocking, not that you see a lot of actual murders but you do see the result which is most of the time a piece of art, in some sort of way. The most bloody one was the father who almost kills his entire family in the first episode, the murder who started it all. You only see Hannibal kill once and even then it is blurry. According to the FBI, there is only one serial killer: “the Chesapeake ripper”. In every episode the one who got killed is killed by or him or one of his many copy cats, since the murderer get caught every time. The final two episodes shines a different light upon this matter and someone is really getting framed. The final episode really kept me on the edge of my seat, it was so exciting and weird at the same time.

Mads Mikkelsen as doctor Lector is really my favourite character. You really can not hate him because he’s so amazing! He does and says everything for a reason and to make him better out of things, people believe him. Even I was confused at some time. I really loved those scenes where or Jack Crawford or the other psychiatrist Alana Bloom (Caroline Dhavernas) enjoyed their dinner ar Hannibal’s table where they were eating human meat! I wonder when people find out what he really is like and what they would do? I can’t wait to see how everything will turn out in season two! Hope it comes soon on the Dutch television.

Leave a Reply

