film review

Review | Haywire – 2011

Haywire, starring Gina Carano, is a film with not much words but lots of fighting scenes. At first I thought it would be a good movie since the presence of great actors Channing Tatum, Ewan McGregor, Michael Douglas, Antonio Banderas and Michael Fassbender. Afterwards I realised this was more a film to show off Gina’s fighting skills and even that didn’t look very well in my opinion. Sure, she can fight but she can not act very well. It also took some time for me to understand what was actually going on. In the end you get a “Oh, ok I get it!” moment.

The film is about Mallory Kane (Gina Carano) who is a sort of soldier who went on a mission with her partner Aaron (Tatum) to Barcelona. What really happened here stays unclear untill the end. After Barcelona Mallory is sent to Dublin by her ‘boss’ Kenneth (McGregor) and meets up with Paul (Fassbender). Everything that happened in Dublin is a sort of set-up and Mallory has to flee, get herself into safety, and fight against the people who set her up.

haywire-gina-carano4 motorcycle Film Title: HAYWIRE

The film actually starts in the middle of story itself and that’s where I got confused. because it’s not clear what happened before and they don’t speak a lot in the whole movie. Gina is not a great actress and she has the same expression on her face almost the entire movie, which irritated me a bit. The big names have all very small roles and like I said before, it’s more a film to show us Gina can kick some ass! I’ve seen her fighting before but just as in Fast 6, it looks so stupid to me: fake and even a bit hilarious at times. What I did absolutely loved, was Gina on a motorcycle! Rock on! lol

It’s not a film I would recommend but I’m also not going to spoil much. Also because I actually should watch it again to know for 100% what happened in this film! If you are a fan of Gina, then you should definitely watch it!

Leave a Reply

