film review

Review | Captain America: The first Avenger – 2011

In preparation for the next film, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, I watched the first Captain America film yesterday on Dutch television. I really really enjoyed it! Remember I don’t know anything about this Marvel character so went in blanc.

The film starts when some men find a ‘ship’ in ice with the shield of Captain America in it. So far, I know what Captain America and his shield looks like. My first thought was they found a space ship, but then I remembered that Captain America wasn’t an alien. After this we jump into the past: World War II. Big surprise for me. I wasn’t aware the film took place during the war since the new film is in the present time. During World War II a lot of young America men want to join the army and so does the tiny Steve Rogers (Chris Evans). After many rejections, he tries it again and get noticed by Dr. Abrahim Erskine (Stanley Tucci). After the doctor’s experiment on Steve, Captain America is born!AmericaCaptain_Patriots_2137029428

But, there’s this mean German who kills the doctor and so ruins the possibility to make more of these strong men. This spy works for Johann Schmidt/Red Skull (Hugo Weaving), a German who wants to make a super army with his special medicine. After Steve Rogers has become the strong soldier, Captain America, he has to promote the army by doing some ridicules shows. But after his best friend Bucky (Sebastian Stan) went missing, he decides to find him on his own. After this point there is a lot of action involving Captain America the American army, Red Skull’s super army and Red Skull himself what results in a “OH now I get it!” moment. 

I find the ending very good!! But from the moment Steve wakes up, I already knew what happened and felt kind of sad he missed his date with Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell). And then, finally, at Times Square there he is: Nick Furry (Samuel L. Jackson) a.k.a. the Boss of S.H.I.E.L.D.! I really liked the story about this young man, without the looks of a real soldier but a big heart, becoming this hero: The First Avenger!

3 thoughts on “Review | Captain America: The first Avenger – 2011

  1. Hey Evelyn! I’m so glad that you enjoyed the movie. It’s great to read your perspective of the movie. Keep up your great reviews! When I saw Captain America I had read the character’s comics a few times and his story is ingrained in American geek culture, but I’ve always wondered if the character of Steve Rogers/ Captain America would be a hit with some one that didn’t have the background knowledge of the character that I and my friends had.

    I take it that you have seen “the Avengers” which would be the sequel to Captain America: The First Avenger, and that you are planning to see the future Marvel Movies going forward.

    I’m going to check out your Thor: The Dark World Review next.

    You rock!

    1. Hi Brad! Thank you for your comment! I always love to hear possitive comments about my reviews! So tank you!
      Yes I’ve seen The Avengers, both Thor movies, the Spiderman trilogy and Iron 1 & 2. I liked them all! When I was younger my mom never allowed me te read commics: Those are not ‘real’ books 😉 The only things I know about these Marvel characters is what I see in the movies! Haha! Enjoy reading the rest of my reviews and let me know whta you think of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

