film review

Review | Safe Haven – 2013

Safe Haven is about a young woman who leaves everything behind to start over in a new town. This film is based on a book written by Nicholas Sparks and therefore I’m a fan! When I saw the trailer for the first time I knew I had to see this film and I wasn’t disappointed!

safe haven

This young woman Katie, Julianne Hough, leaves her old life due to some unclear events and finds herself in a small town where she meets Alex (Josh Duhamel) and his kids. Just like every other Nicholas Sparks book, there are some predictable events:

  • Katie and Alex fall for each other,
  • Katie becomes good friends with the children
  • at 2/3 of the film something happens which leads to a ‘break-up’
  • but at the end Katie and Alex make up and they live happily ever after 😉

Nonetheless there are two moments which surprised me! The reason why Katie left and the story behind Katie’s neighbour Jo (Cobie Smulders). At the end Alex gives Katie a letter written by his former wife and what happens next was so beautiful! I really didn’t see that coming. Despite the predictability it’s a nice romantic film you can watch without thinking!

What I thought was a nice element, was the fact that whatever has happened in the past you can overcome it and you can start over! Also, I love the location Southport, North Carolina. I think it’s so peaceful and definitely a town I want to visit once!

Leave a Reply

